选择合适的管件可提高色谱仪的性能:随着各大实验室和仪表设备OEM持续推动研发更灵敏、响应更迅速的仪器,高效液相色谱仪(HPLC)管内径的光洁度变得越来越为重要。大多数HPLC色谱柱的长度在3至25 cm之间,内径为1至5 mm。用于填充色谱柱的颗粒的典型直径为3至5μm。

当柱内填充颗粒的直径减小时,液相色谱柱的效能将随之提高。近年来,HPLC仪器的系统压力需求不断提高。因此,在流路中更需要使用高完整性、高质量的部件。

例如,对于内径为4.6mm且长度为200mm的色谱仪而言,当其填充颗粒的粒径为3微米,且最佳流速为1.5毫升/分钟时,其可在30℃下经受超过7,000磅/平方”(甲醇[MeOH])的压力。

大多数HPLC色谱柱均由不锈钢制成。但是,在选择管件材料时,首先要考虑的是材料是否与样品和流动相具有化学相容性。很多时候,选择用于液体流道的管件常常成为分离和取样问题的根源所在。这通常是由于管件与样品和/或流动相的化学不相容性而造成的。一些样品会“粘”在不锈钢管的表面,导致样品损失、利用率降低并造成残留。不过,即使确定不锈钢是与样品相容的最佳“材料”,管件的内径还必须没有杂质,如油质、油脂和其他来自制造流程的异物。异物可能导致交叉污染和样品读数不准确。因此,在这个行业里,管件的清洁度至关重要,并且传统的管件在安装之前通常需要在现场进行进一步清洁。

考虑到上述因素,正确选择超小径不锈钢无缝毛细管无疑对确保HPLC设备的性能至关重要,尤其是在高系统压力和非环境温度下。色谱仪的管件应无缝,内径表面应极其光洁,同时保证同心。在很多应用中,同心度最好能够超过ASTM/EN规范。这将保证最佳的内径容积一致性,从而有效减小管内容积并提高取样效率。 

3个关键考虑因素

确定不锈钢与样品化学相容后,我们必须考虑所提供的管件的三个主要性能特征:

  1. 内径的光洁度
    • 这可确保最稳定的层流,从而减少扰动,以提高系统分辨能力。
  2. 同心度
    • 高同心度内径将会减少连接点处的流体扰动,有助于减少谱带增宽。
  3. 容积一致性
    • 更加可控的容积可帮助减少驻留时间并减小扩散效应,从而提高整体峰值分辨能力。

选择正确的管件可确保样品的完整性并提供一致的结果,同时还可提高测量速度和准确度。毛细管内的光洁内孔可限制通过样品回路的牛顿流动。所有这些均有助于获得更好的样品读数。

如需了解有关如何选择合适毛细管的更多信息,请参阅:采用Chromat I.D.™工艺的USD™毛细管

资料来源:

Proper Tubing Selection Improves Chromatograph Performance: As laboratories and instrumentation equipment OEMs continue to drive towards more sensitive and responsive instruments, the smoothness of the inner diameter of HPLC tubing is becoming more and more critical. Most HPLC analytical columns are between 3 and 25 cm long and have an inside diameter of 1 to 5 mm. The particles that pack the columns have a typical diameter between 3 to 5 µm. Liquid

Capillary_Tubing_3Chromatographic columns will increase in efficiency when the diameter of the packed particles inside the column decreases.   In recent years the demands of system pressures in HPLC instrumentation has been increasing.  Therefore there is more demand for high integrity, high quality components in the flow path.

For instance, a 4.6 mm ID, 200 mm long column for a particle diameter of 3 µm and an optimal flow rate of 1.5 mL/min can experience pressures of over 7,000 psi (for Methanol [MeOH]) at 30°C.

Most HPLC columns are made from stainless steel.  However, when choosing the material for tubing the first thing to consider is if it is chemically compatible with the sample and the mobile phase.  Too frequently the tubing selected for the fluid pathway has been a source of problems in separations and sampling.  Often this is because of the chemical incompatibility of the tubing to the sample and/or the mobile phase. Some samples will “stick” to the surface of stainless steel tubing, causing loss of sample, low yield and carryover.  However, if stainless is determined to be the best “material” for the compatibility of the sample, it is critical that the inner diameter of the tubing be free of impurities, such as oil, grease and other foreign material leftover from the manufacturing.  Foreign materials can result in cross-contamination and inaccurate sample readings.  Therefore, cleanliness of the tubing is critical in this industry and conventional tubing typically requires additional cleaning on-site, prior to installation.

Considering these factors, it is clear that the right choice of ultra-small diameter seamless stainless steel capillary tubing is crucial for the performance of HPLC equipment, particularly at high system pressures and non-ambient temperatures.  Chromatography tubing should be seamless, have extremely smooth inner diameter surface and be concentric.  In many applications it is best if the concentricity exceeds ASTM/EN specifications.  This will allow for an optimal inner diameter volume consistency, which effectively reduces the volume in the tube and increases sampling efficiency. 

3 Key Considerations

When stainless steel is determined to be chemically compatible with the sample, we must consider three primary performance characteristics of the tubing being supplied:

  1. The smoothness of the inner diameter
    • This ensures the most laminar flow possible, reducing turbulence to improve system resolutions.
  2. The concentricity
    • A highly concentric inner diameter will reduce flow disturbances at connection points helping to reduce band broadening.
  3. Volume consistency
    • A more controlled volume can help to reduce dwell time and lessen diffusion effects, improving overall peak resolution.

Selecting the correct tubing ensures sample integrity and provides consistent results.  It also increases measurement speed and accuracy.  A smooth bore in the capillary tube limits Newtonian flow through the sample loop.  All of these result in a better sample read.

For more information on choosing the right capillary tubing, check out: USD™ capillary tubing with Chromat I.D.™.

Sources: