作为美国的下一代员工,千禧一代出生于1980年至2000年代中期。他们是美国人数最庞大和最具多元化的一代,在2013年已占总人口数的三分之一。至2025年,约75%的美国劳动力将由千禧一代构成。对于工作、理想的雇主以及人生的目标,千禧一代都拥有特立独行的见解。

制造商需要更好地了解这一代人,并对其品牌形象和招聘方式进行相应调整,以便能在未来几年吸引千禧一代,对于制造行业来说,这尤为重要。

行业趋势

Millennials__Manufacturing_Jobs_1

制造业正在以惊人的速度发展,这要求持续进行调整的能力,因为该行业受到诸多因素的影响,其中包括了监管机构、全球经济与消费趋势。最近浮现的一项影响因素是熟练劳动力的短缺问题,其部分原因在于制造商对教育体系的看法、社会对制造业的看法及其对职业选择的影响、当前的制造业招聘技巧、员工薪酬以及员工退休率。据估计,目前可供选择的“技能型员工”职位从200,000到600,000个不等。

为帮助填补这一就业缺口,制造商必须制定规划,在千禧一代转行或进入职场时吸引他们。目前,大多数制造商表示,千禧一代仅占其员工总数的一小部分,而大部分公司都缺乏改变这一现状的计划或策略。这些公司所聘用的员工中有80%属于“婴儿潮”一代或是更加年长。考虑到制造业中有将近一半的员工年龄在55岁以上,这并不出人意料。千禧一代将会取代即将退休的婴儿潮一代。在许多人眼里(不仅仅是千禧一代),制造业仍然是“蓝领”工作,因此制造商改善形象、调整招聘方式以吸引下一代技能型员工变得至关重要。

德勤(Deloitte)和美国制造业学会(Manufacturing Institute)于2011年开展的一项名为 “坚定不移的承诺:当今公众对制造业的看法”的研究显示,虽然美国公众笃信制造业对美国经济的重要性,然而在谈到职业选择时,制造业却位居榜尾。大多数家庭不鼓励他们的子女从事与制造业相关的工作,从而加剧了劳动力短缺问题。

千禧一代关心什么?

在着手制定吸引更多千禧一代应聘制造业职位的策略之前,首先需要了解他们所关注的问题,以及他们对雇主的期望。

⇒千禧一代只会在心甘情愿的情况下工作。只要能够完成工作,他们不在意工作时间的长短。

⇒千禧一代喜欢随意但有创意的工作环境,不会把个人生活与职业生活分开。

⇒千禧一代擅长一心多用,能够同时履行多项职责。毕竟,他们中的许多人似乎生来就随身携带了智能手机和笔记本电脑。

⇒千禧一代看重拥有一份自己喜爱的工作并乐于迎接挑战。不同于他们的父母,他们不愿为了职业而牺牲个人生活。

⇒千禧一代企求有利于促进合作的扁平组织结构,而不是典型的上下层级结构。他们爱好与同事建立有价值的关系。

⇒千禧一代喜欢即时获得满足和认可,希望即时收到反馈意见,而不是等待定期评审。他们需要感受到他们的所作所为是重要的,而他们的意见也同样重要。

⇒千禧一代精通技术,他们关注是否能拥有众多机会以增进自身的技术专长并晋升领导职位。

⇒千禧一代希望他们为之工作的公司为各种各样的事业提供支持。

⇒千禧一代期望他们的同事和上级主管光明磊落,诚实可信。在加入一家公司之后,他们不想遇到任何变故。

未来的改进构想 

Millennials__Manufacturing_Jobs_2随着婴儿潮一代离退休越来越近,制造商可以实施一些变革措施,以增加制造业职位对千禧一代的吸引力。

  1. 开发制造业见习和实习项目,为千禧一代提供在潜在雇主的制造厂内获得亲身体验的机会。
  2. 主办或参与当地的Manufacturing Day℠MFGDAY®)活动。“‘制造日’是为现代制造业设立的节日,旨在激励下一代制造商。虽然官方‘制造日’定于每年10月的第一个星期五(本年度为2015年10月2日),但是任何一天都可以成为‘制造日’。”
  3. 为千禧一代提供一个导师,以便他们有机会提出疑问和分享关注事项,并由导师给予鼓励和启发。
  4. 提供灵活的工作时间和假期,让千禧一代可以按自定的时间表安排工作,并保持工作与生活之间的平衡。
  5. 创造和鼓励开放的工作环境,为千禧一代提供开展合作、发挥创意和创新精神的机会。
  6. 与社区内的高中、技术学院和大学合作,提供设施参观活动或让学生有机会获得一天的亲身工作体验,从而激发对于未来从事制造业工作的憧憬。
  7. 通过在工厂推广新型技术和展示当今制造业的创新能力来扭转负面看法。
  8. 调整招聘策略和技巧,包括更多地利用社交媒体与互联网*,并考虑对传统面试环境和流程的替代方案。

    *千禧一代不愿为公司网站历经5年以上仍维持原状的公司工作。 /blockquote>

结论

制造业拥有令人兴奋的未来,但传统的招聘方式无法吸引千禧一代抓住为他们提供的机会。为了缩小婴儿潮一代与千禧一代之间的劳动力空缺并保持竞争力,讲求效率和创意的制造商必须了解和接纳下一代员工。 

资料来源

o Flickr(照片1)
o NextAvenue (照片2)

Millennials, the next generation of employees, are Americans born between 1980 and the mid-2000s. They are the largest and most diverse generation in the U.S., representing one-third of the total population in 2013. By 2025, Millennials will make up approximately 75% of the U.S. workforce. They have very specific views about work, what they desire from an employer, and what they want out of life. Manufacturers need

to gain a better understanding of this generation and adapt their branding and hiring practices to reach Millennials in the coming years, especially in the manufacturing industry.

Industry Trends

Millennials__Manufacturing_Jobs_1

The manufacturing industry is progressing at an amazing rate, and requires the ability to constantly adjust as it is influenced by many factors, including governing agencies, the global economy, and consumer trends to name a few. A more recent contributing factor is the skilled labor shortage, which is partly a result of manufacturer perception of the education system, society’s perception of manufacturing and its effects on career choices, current manufacturing hiring techniques, employee compensation and workforce retirement rates. It is estimated that there are anywhere from 200,000-600,000 positions classified under “skilled laborers” that are available.

To help solve this employment gap, manufacturers must create a plan to attract Millennials as they change careers or enter the workforce. Currently, most manufacturers say Millennials represent only a small percentage of their workforce, and the majority of companies do not have plans or strategies to change this. Of the staff they are hiring, 80% of those are Baby Boomer age or older. This is not surprising considering nearly half of all those in manufacturing jobs are over 55 years old. Millennials will replace these retiring Baby Boomers. Many people – not just Millennials – still perceive manufacturing as “blue collar” work, making it critical for manufacturers to improve their image and update their recruiting methods to attract the next generation of skilled workers.

According to a 2011 study by Deloitte and The Manufacturing Institute, Unwavering Commitment: The public’s view of the manufacturing industry today, the U.S. public registers a strong belief in the importance of manufacturing for the country’s economy, but when it comes to choosing manufacturing as a career choice, they place it near the bottom of the list. Most families do not encourage their children to pursue manufacturing related positions, adding to the labor shortage.

What do Millennials Care About?

Before you begin developing a strategy to attract more Millennials to your manufacturing positions, you first need to understand what they care about and what they expect from an employer.

⇒Millennials work when they feel like working. As long as they get their work done, the amount of time they are at work doesn’t matter.

⇒Millennials like a casual but innovative work environment and don’t separate their personal and professional life.

⇒Millennials are great at multitasking and can juggle multiple responsibilities at once.   After all, it almost appears as if many of them were born with smartphones in their hands and laptop attached to their hips.

⇒Millennials value having a job they enjoy and want to be challenged. They are not as willing as their parents to sacrifice their personal life just to advance their careers.

⇒Millennials want a flat organizational structure that promotes collaboration, not the typical hierarchy. They like building valued relationships with colleagues.

⇒Millennials like instant gratification and recognition and want to receive immediate feedback rather than waiting for a scheduled review. They need to feel what they are doing is important and that their opinions matter.

⇒Millennials are tech-savvy and concerned with having many opportunities to grow their technical expertise and progress into leadership roles.

⇒Millennials want the companies they work for to support various causes.

⇒Millennials expect transparency and honesty from their co-workers and supervisors. They don’t want any surprises once they join a company.

Ideas to Improve in the Future 

Millennials__Manufacturing_Jobs_2As Baby Boomers move closer to retiring, there are several changes manufacturers can implement to make positions in manufacturing more appealing to Millennials.

  1. Develop manufacturing apprenticeships and internship programs to give Millennials the chance for hands-on experience right inside a potential employer’s manufacturing facility.
  2. Host or be involved in a local Manufacturing Day℠ (MFGDAY®). “Manufacturing Day is a celebration of modern manufacturing meant to inspire the next generation of manufacturers. Although Manufacturing Day officially occurs on the first Friday in October (October 2, 2015 this year) any day can be a Manufacturing Day.”
  3. Provide Millennials with a mentor so they will have the opportunity to ask questions and share their concerns, and the mentor can encourage and inspire them.
  4. Provide flexible hours and vacation time so Millennials have the opportunity to work on their own schedule and maintain their work-life balance.
  5. Create and encourage an open work environment where Millennials have the opportunity to collaborate and be creative and innovative.
  6. Partner with high schools, technical colleges and universities in the community and provide tours of facilities or the opportunity for students to experience working there for a day to create excitement for a future career in manufacturing.
  7. Change negative perceptions by promoting new technologies in your facility and showing how innovative the manufacturing industry is today.
  8. Update recruiting strategies and techniques to include increasing social media an internet presence*, and consider alternatives to the traditional interview setting and process.

    *Millennials are not excited to work for a company that has a 5+ year old website. /blockquote>

Conclusion

There is an exciting future for manufacturing, but traditional methods of recruiting will not attract Millennials to the opportunities available to them. In order to close the workforce gap between Baby Boomers and Millennials and stay competitive, productive and innovative manufacturers must understand and embrace the next generation of employees. 

Sources

o    Flickr (photo 1)
o    NextAvenue (photo 2)