按照定义,无缝意味着“完全一致”,但许多人在选择管材时会对“无接缝”和“焊接和拉拔”等术语感到困惑。无缝管、焊接管和无接缝管听上去似乎都没有接缝,但仔细检查就会发现,它们之间存在着巨大差异。

特性

拉拔管图无缝316管可提供更高的耐腐蚀性,原因是其可实现100%无缝状态,没有任何纵向或轨道焊缝。无缝管从钢水开始,经过精炼并铸造成钢坯。接着将坯料挤压成无缝管,然后使用周期式轧管机将其减小到更小尺寸,轧管机使用芯棒来支撑内径。在减小的管道经过清洁和退火后,它会经历冷拔过程。此过程使用模具来减小外径,并使用顶头来保持内径。在清洁和退火后,冷拔过程重复多次,直至管达到所需尺寸,此时仍然保持完全无缝状态。

生产焊接管时,应先轧制成型扁平的钢带,并将其与纵向接缝连接。该过程可以通过多种不同方式进行,包括氩弧焊或激光对中。生产焊接管比较简单,因此在成本上低于无缝管。然而,由于焊接区域在尺寸上与钢带并不一致,故会引起应力集中区域。

管轴上的盘管对于暴露在较高内压下的管材,其不一致性可能是一个主要问题。裂缝会导致裂纹,而裂纹可能进一步传播并导致焊接管破裂。因此,与相同尺寸的无缝管相比,ASME B31.3工艺管道规范将焊接管的工作压力降低了15%。

焊接管横截面的显微照片

此外,存在于焊缝两侧的这些裂缝还会创造腐蚀机会。热处理过程中的冶金污染也会导致腐蚀,因为制造过程中的残留物可能会被困在这些裂缝中。在通过管道循环泵送介质的某些应用中,焊缝可能会剥落并影响整个系统的性能,从而造成不利后果。纵向焊接为缺陷提供了机会,而这在关键应用中是无法容忍的。

某些制造商现已采用不同的方法,以试图最大程度上降低尺寸变化并使焊缝接合为一。其常用方法是通过模具重新拉拔焊接管。这通常包括管内部用于支撑的顶头,但也可以在没有顶头的情况下完成。此类产品拥有各种命名,包括:焊接拉拔管,分为接缝管和无接缝管两类。通过模具和顶头重新拉拔“熔接状态的管材”,随后进行退火处理将有助于保持均匀焊缝。不过,为了保持焊缝完全均匀,此类操作需要重复几次,这会增加最终产品的总成本。相比之下,无缝管不存在任何焊缝。无缝的不锈钢盘管始终是最佳选择。

应用场所

某些极端应用会指定对无缝高压管的需求,并且不鼓励使用焊接管,因为设计者不愿承担缺陷带来的风险。主要的无缝应用包括用于石油和天然气行业的海底安全阀控制管线、用于造船业的液压控制、用于航空航天的燃料和液压管线以及用于化学处理的伴热管束。焊接管可以指定用于医疗设备、汽车和家电行业中的应用。在某些应用中,无接缝管用作无缝管的替代品,但产品并不总是可以互换。在高压应用中,这种类型的耐腐蚀管材是最佳选择。

质量

最后,在选择一种管材时,质量是不可或缺的考虑因素。重要的一点是要考虑使用的原材料、生产过程和轧机的完整性。原材料应当具有最高质量。声誉卓著的管材供应商会完整记录其认证,并且满足或超过ISO 9001要求。他们的系统延伸至制造过程,并允许在整个产品生产过程中进行质量检查。

结论

无缝管、焊接管以及焊接和拉拔管之间存在许多差异:制造过程的复杂性、成品的成本、缺陷的机会和压力等级。负责设计设备的工程师必须最终确定他更倾向于在其应用中使用无缝管、焊接管还是焊接和拉拔管。他必须确定其过程中的失效是否会造成灾难性后果。无缝管是关键应用中的首选,因为它减少了缺陷的机会并且能够承受更高压力,但是,世界上有许多非关键性应用成功地使用了焊接管或焊接和拉拔管。

关于作者

HandyTube公司隶属于Handy & Harman公司,是一家生产高级不锈钢盘管的制造商,其产品适用于各种高压和危险应用。HandyTube的无缝不锈钢盘管适用于石油和天然气、化学加工、造船、仪器仪表、氢燃料电池、航空航天和国防、过程自动化以及生命科学行业。要获得关于无缝管的优惠报价,请联系sales@handytube.com点击此处索取报价。

Seamless, by definition, means “perfectly consistent,” but many people get confused by terms like “seam-free” and “welded-and-drawn” when it comes to selecting tube. Seamless tubing, welded tubing, and seam-free tubing all appear to be consistently free of seams, but a closer examination reveals big differences.

Characteristics

Plug drawing tube diagramSeamless 316 tubing offers increased corrosion resistance, because it is 100% seam-free without any longitudinal or orbital welds. Seamless tube begins as molten steel, which is refined and cast in to a billet. The billet is extruded into a seamless pipe that is then reduced to a smaller size using a pilger mill, which utilizes a mandrel to support the internal diameter. After the reduced pipe is cleaned and annealed, it goes through a cold-drawing process. This process uses a die to reduce the outer diameter and a plug to maintain the inner diameter. After the reduced pipe is cleaned and annealed, it goes through a cold-drawing process. This process uses a die to reduce the outer diameter and a plug to maintain the inner diameter. After cleaning and annealing, the cold-drawing process is repeated many times until the tube reaches the desired dimensions, still perfectly seamless.

To produce a welded tube, flat strip is roll-formed and joined with a longitudinal seam. The process can be done several different ways, including tig welding or laser alignment. Producing welded tube is simpler and therefore less expensive than seamless. However, the weld area is dimensionally inconsistent with the strip and causes areas of stress concentration.

CoiledtubingonspoolFor tubes exposed to high internal pressures, inconsistencies in the tubing can be a major concern. Crevices can cause cracks, which can propagate and cause the welded tube to rupture. As a result, ASME B31.3, Process Piping Code, de-rates the working pressures of welded tubes by 15 percent compared to seamless tubes of the same dimensions.

cross-sectional micrograph of a welded tube

Furthermore, these crevices, which exist on both sides of the weld seam, create opportunities for corrosion. Metallurgical contamination during heat treatment can also lead to corrosion, as residue from the manufacturing process may become trapped in these crevices. In some applications, where a medium is cyclically pumped through the tube, the weld seam can flake off and affect the performance of the overall system, and that can be detrimental. Longitudinal welds present an opportunity for defect, which cannot be tolerated in critical applications.

Some manufacturers use different methods in an attempt to minimize the dimensional variation and integrate the weld seam. A common method used is to re-draw the welded tubing through a die. This often includes a plug on the inside of the tube for support, but it can also be done without a plug. These products are known by many names including: welded-and-drawn, seam-integrated and seam-free tubing. Redrawing “as-welded tubing” with a die and plug and subsequently annealing helps homogenize the weld. However, in order to fully homogenize the weld, these operations need to be repeated several times, increasing the overall cost of the finished product. Seamless tubing, in comparison, does not have any welds. And stainless coil tubing that is seamless is always the best choice.

Applications

Certain extreme applications will specify the need for seamless high pressure tubing and will discourage the use of welded tube because the designers cannot risk the opportunity for defect. Major seamless applications include control lines for subsea safety valves for the oil and gas industry, hydraulic controls for shipbuilding, fuel and hydraulic lines for aerospace, and heat trace bundles for chemical processing. Welded tubing may be specified for applications within the medical device, automotive, and appliance industries. Seam-free tubing is used as a substitute for seamless tubing in some applications, but the products are not always interchangeable. In high-pressure applications, this type of corrosion resistant tubing is the preferred choice.

Quality

Finally, quality is imperative when choosing a type of tube. It is important to consider the raw material used, production process, and integrity of the mill. Raw material should be of the highest quality. Reputable tubing suppliers fully document their certifications and satisfy or exceed ISO 9001 requirements. Their systems extend to the manufacturing process and allow for quality checks throughout the production of products.

Conclusion

There are many differences between seamless, welded and welded-and-drawn tubing: complexity of the manufacturing process, cost of the finished product, opportunity for defect, and pressure rating. The engineer responsible for designing the equipment must ultimately specify whether he prefers to use seamless, welded or welded-and-drawn tubing in his application. He must determine if a failure in his process would be catastrophic. Seamless tubing is the preferred option in critical applications because of its reduced opportunity for defect and ability to withstand higher pressures, but there are many applications of noncritical nature around the world that successfully utilize welded or welded-and-drawn tubing.

About the Author

HandyTube Corporation, a Handy & Harman Company, is a premium manufacturer of stainless steel coil tubing for a variety of high-pressure and hazardous applications. HandyTube’s seamless, stainless steel coils are used in applications for the oil and gas, chemical processing, shipbuilding, instrumentation, hydrogen fuel cell, aerospace and defense, process automation, and life science industries. For a competitive quote on seamless tubing, contact sales@handytube.com or request a quote click here.