为降低腐蚀风险,管材通常采用耐腐蚀合金制成,包括Inconel合金和不锈钢。然而,在高温下仍会发生敏化作用,使合金极易受到侵蚀。让我们来探讨一下什么是敏化,以及一些预防方法。

敏化是如何发生的

在高温下,含铬的金属会发生敏化。在此过程中,碳化铬沉淀物会沿着金属的晶界或者在多晶固体中两个晶体之间的界面形成。这种沉淀会产生局部的铬耗尽区,阻止形成保护性氧化物层并使合金暴露于腐蚀性侵蚀。

当含铬和含碳合金被加热至750°-1,500° F时,就会形成沉淀物。随着形成的碳化物越来越多,将会缓慢发生敏化作用,时间从30分钟到数小时不等,一旦发生敏化,材料将受到严重影响。

316不锈钢的敏化晶粒结构,其晶界形成了碳化物。

如何预防敏化

检查方法也可帮助您识别敏化迹象。当在显微镜下审视敏化金属的晶粒时,由于存在碳化物,受影响的区域会产生厚厚的深色晶界。然后,您可以根据ASTM标准A262测试可疑样品。在不锈钢和Inconel合金中添加钛和铌可以降低敏化效应。由于碳会优先与铌和钛结合而非铬,因此从溶液中析出的铬要少得多,难以形成碳化铬沉淀物,从而保持了氧化层完整性。另一个方法是限制合金的碳含量。当存在的碳较少时,形成的碳化物沉淀物也较少并会留下更多的铬,使保护性氧化物层得以维持。

要了解更多信息,请下载我们的应用说明

 

下载应用说明

To mitigate the risk of corrosion, tubes are often made out of corrosion-resistant alloys, including Inconel alloys and stainless steels. At elevated temperatures, however, sensitization can still occur—opening up your alloy to attack. Let’s explore what sensitization is, as well as some of the ways you can prevent it.

How Sensitization Occurs

At elevated temperatures, sensitization can occur in metals that contain chromium. During this process, chromium carbide precipitates form along the metal’s grain boundaries, or the interface between two crystals in a polycrystalline solid. This precipitation creates localized chromium depletion zones, which prevent the protective oxide layer from forming and expose the alloy to corrosive attack.

Precipitates form when chromium- and carbon-containing alloys are heated anywhere from 750°–1,500° F. Sensitization develops slowly as more carbides form and can take anywhere from 30 minutes to several hours before the material is significantly affected.

Sensitized grain structure of 316 stainless steel with carbides formed in the grain boundaries.

How To Prevent Sensitization

Inspection methods can also help you identify the signs of sensitization. When examining the grain mount of a sensitized metal under a microscope, the affected area will have thick, dark grain boundaries due to the presence of carbides. You can then test questionable specimens according to ASTM standard A262.Adding titanium and niobium to stainless steels and Inconel alloys can reduce the effects of sensitization. Because carbon prefers bonding with niobium and titanium over chromium, far less chromium is pulled out of the solution to form chromium carbide precipitates—keeping the oxide layer intact. Another strategy is to limit the alloy’s carbon content. When less carbon is present, less carbide precipitates form and more chromium is left to maintain the protective oxide layer.

To learn more, download our application note.

 

Download The Application Note