在近海平台上经常使用的316不锈钢仪表管设有一层薄薄的氧化铬保护层用于防止发生腐蚀。但是,某些情况下,该层仍无法提供必要的保护。在存在氯化物或局部腐蚀的情况下,氧化膜可能存在失效的风险。此外,不锈钢中可能会发生缝隙腐蚀,并且可能会出现点蚀。安装于墨西哥湾下使用一到三年后,某些316不锈钢管便已遭致点蚀。为了解决此类问题,我们尝试使用了317和317L不锈钢管。尽管其被一致认为稍微更为耐腐,但并未取得显著的积极成效。

腐蚀的类型和原因

局部腐蚀通常被分为点蚀或缝隙腐蚀。点蚀很容易便可在表面上进行确认,即遭致腐蚀或生锈的凹槽之处,而缝隙腐蚀通常较难进行检测。导致局部腐蚀的影响因素很多,包括环境条件、处理和安装情况,甚至涉及未能正确选择最适用于应用场所的合金。安装不当和合金选择错误通常会导致管件表面迅速变质。

上述情况看似显而易见,但却常被忽视,是最为见的间接事故,可导致表面发生退化。导致污染的事故事件则是由以下过程中释放的含铁颗粒引发的:

  • 焊接和磨削
  • 导致表面沉积物受到污染的处理、钻孔和爆破
  • 柴油机含硫废气的排放

此外,如果在没有适当清洁淡水的情况下展开海水雨淋系统测试,则腐蚀性氯化物沉积物可能得以沉淀。

示例

316不锈钢管的腐蚀与点蚀在佛罗里达州的美国国家航空航天局(NASA)肯尼迪航天中心发射台、西非邦加油田浮式生产储油卸油船(Bonga FPSO)和某些北海平台下,不锈钢仪表管上发生了相同或非常相似的腐蚀现象。在使用五年或更短时间内,在北海平台上发现了点蚀和缝隙腐蚀现象。

某些应用场所下尝试了各种液体涂层,然而并未取得成功。由于小径管的表面积十分有限,即便可能,适当制备表面和保持涂层的干膜厚度均匀不变也绝非易事。

因为海上环境中常伴有因爆破磨料、钻井泥浆和其他常见操作而造成碎片,所以缝隙腐蚀在海上平台上并不罕见。对于此类应用场所,诸如AL-6XN合金、2507合金、c276合金、Monel 400合金或Tungum合金等耐点蚀合金可表示出显著成效。热塑性PVC不锈钢护套管较为经济实惠,其可经受此类应用环境,不失为一种上佳的替代选择。

随着氯化物浓度和温度的升高,膜破裂的可能性将随之增加。

解决方案

迄今为止,针对耐腐蚀管所作的最佳解决方案便是使用抗紫外线的挤出型热塑性聚氨酯护套(TPU)。在TPU护套管上成功进行了几项资格认证测试。TPU护套管已被推荐用于雪佛龙能源技术公司的所有新建和维护、修理与运行(MRO)应用场所。如有可能,雪佛龙建议使用带有TPU护套的不锈钢盘管,以减少所需的机械或焊接连接的数量,因其可能是潜在的腐蚀区域。

在316L无缝盘管上使用封装的直管和配件并非理想的解决方案,而热塑性聚氨酯(TPU)护套则不失为一良选。TPU护套必须具有阻燃性,并且能在紫外线强烈的情况下至少保持现场使用20年以上。此类护套易于徒手,或使用桌面或专业的现场弯曲机具实现安装。开卷机可用于将管件从管轴拉至所需长度,然后用传统的截管器切割管件并使其弯曲到所需的半径。另一种替代方案是使用覆有PVC涂层的不锈钢管,其将采用相同的安装流程。PVC不锈钢护套管将有助于提供更佳的防电偶和大气腐蚀的保护性能。PVC最适用于诸如天然气和液体输送管、蒸汽供应和冷凝液回收管等的应用场所,其下防风雨性和节能性通常至关重要。对于针对小径管系统而于现场安装的绝缘装置而言,这是一种更为实用且更具成本效益的替代方案。

盘管

使用超长不锈钢盘管的主要优势之一便是其可减少或避免出现机械配件和/或多处焊缝。应尽可能减少使用配件,以降低出现泄漏的风险。当短管与配件连接时,即使管件本身带有TPU护套,在安装后仍然需要耗费大量人工保护配件。带有TPU护套的AISI 316L盘管则是这一和其他诸多应用场所的最佳解决方案。其可降低因为配件(连续管卷)和点蚀(腐蚀防护)而造成的泄漏风险。上漆盘管可以并联安装,以封装的形式一起运行。该方法可以节约空间,并且可以快速简便地进行安装并多次运行,从而降低人工成本。对于多管(最多高达四个并联管)应用场所,则应使用双护套或导管,以便可将其拆分为单管,并同时在每一单独长度的管件上保持保护套的连续性。

结论(最佳方法)

行业标准NACE SP00108-2008“使用防护漆对海上平台结构进行防腐蚀控制”概述了在海上平台结构中进行更有效腐蚀防护的相关程序;而API RP 552“传输系统”则介绍了一些最佳安装方法。但是,此类标准都没有阐明用于避免产生缝隙腐蚀的方法。如上所述,保持管件腐蚀控制的最佳方法便是使用带有TPU护套的AISI 316L盘管

资料来源:

PolyLab LLC

NACE International 08254

Offshore®杂志

雪佛龙能源技术公司

世伟洛克®

Stainless steel 316 instrument tubing frequently used on offshore platforms has a thin chromium oxide protective layer for corrosion protection. However, there are instances where this layer does not provide the necessary protection.  In the presence of chloride or localized pitting the oxide film may be at risk of failure.  In addition, crevice corrosion may occur in stainless steels and can appear to be pitting corrosion.  From one to three years after installation in applications in the Gulf of Mexico some SS 316 tubing has shown to become pitted. To combat these occurrences stainless steel 317 and 317L, known to be somewhat more corrosion resistant, have been attempted without providing significantly positive results.

Corrosion Types and Causes

Localized corrosion is typically considered as pitting or crevice. Pitting is easily recognized on the surface as corroded or rusted pits, where crevice corrosion is often more difficult to detect. There are many influences that cause localized corrosion, from the environment to handling and installation, to improper selection of the best alloy for the application.   Improper installation and selecting the wrong alloy will often result in rapid deterioration of the tubing surfaces.

Seemingly obvious, but often overlooked, are common indirect events that can cause surface degradation. Frequently seen events causing contamination are produced by iron particles that are released when:

  • welding and grinding
  • handling, drilling, and blasting allowing for surface deposit contamination
  • expelling of sulfur-rich diesel exhaust

In addition, if seawater deluge systems are tested without proper freshwater cleansing, corrosive chloride deposits may settle in.

Examples

Corrosion & pitting of 316 stainless steel tubingThe same or very similar corrosion has occurred on stainless steel instrument tubing at the NASA Kennedy Space Center Launch Pad in Florida, in the West Africa Bonga FPSO and some North Sea platforms.  Pitting and crevice corrosion have been found on North Sea platforms within five years of service or less.

In some applications various liquid coatings have been attempted without success.  Proper surface preparation and a uniform dry film thickness of coating are very difficult, if not impossible, to achieve due to the limited surface area of small diameter tubing.

Crevice corrosion is not uncommon on offshore platforms due to the debris from blasting abrasives, drilling muds and other common activities in this environment. For these applications pitting resistant alloys such as AL-6XN, alloy 2507, alloy c276, Monel 400, or Tungum can have measureable success.  Less expensive thermoplastic PVC jacketed stainless steel tubing is found to hold up to under these conditions and can be a good alternative.

The likelihood of having this film breakdown increases with a higher concentration of chloride and elevated temperatures.

Solution

To-date, the best solution for corrosion resistant tubing is the use of a UV resistant extruded thermoplastic polyurethane jacket (TPU).  Several qualification tests have been successfully conducted on TPU jacketed tubing.  TPU jacketed tubing has been recommended for all new construction and MRO applications at Chevron Energy Technology.  Wherever possible, Chevron advises the use of coiled stainless steel tubing jacketed with TPU to reduce the number of required mechanical or weld connections, which can be potential areas of corrosion.

Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU) sheathing over 316L coiled seamless tubing is an ideal solution instead of using encapsulated stick tubing and fittings. It is imperative that TPU sheathing is rated to be fire retardant and stable from UV deterioration for a minimum of 20 years of in-field service.  This sheathing is easily installed with hand, tabletop or special field bending tools. Uncoilers are used to pull the tubing from the spool to the desired length, and then tubing can be cut with traditional tube cutters and bent to the desired radius.  Another alternative is the use of PVC coated stainless steel tubing using the same installation process.  PVC jacketed stainless steel tubing helps provide increased protection against galvanic and atmospheric corrosion. PVC is best suited for applications such as gas and liquid transport lines, steam supply and condensate return where weatherproofing and energy conservation are important. This is a more practical and cost-effective alternative to field-installed insulation of small-diameter tubing systems.

Coiled Tubing

One of the primary benefits of using stainless steel coiled tubing over long lengths is the reduction, or elimination, of mechanical fittings and/or multiple welds.  Fittings should be minimized whenever possible to reduce opportunities for leaks.  When shorter tubes are joined with fittings, even if the tubes themselves are jacketed with TPU, there is still a large amount of labor required to protect the fittings after they are installed.  TPU sheathed AISI 316L coiled tubing is the best solution for this and many other applications. It reduces the risk of leaks through fittings (continuous coils) and pitting (corrosion protection). Coated coil tubing can be  installed in parallel, running together in an encapsulated formation.  This method saves space and makes installation of multiple runs fast and easy, reducing labor costs. For multiple tubes (up to as many as four parallel tubes), a dual jacket or conduit should be used so individual tubes can be split while maintaining a continuous protective jacket on each separate length of tubing.

Conclusion (best practice)

Industry standard, NACE SP0108-2008 “Corrosion Control of Offshore Structures by Protective Coatings,” outlines procedures for more effective corrosion protection in offshore structures and API RP 552 “Transmission Systems,” addresses some best practices for installation. However, neither of these standards address ways to avoid crevice corrosion.  As stated, the best practice for maintaining corrosion control of tubing is to use AISI 316L coiled tubing sheathed with a TPU jacket.

Sources:

PolyLab LLC

NACE International 08254

Offshore® Magazine

Chevron Energy Technology

Swagelok®