特制无缝不锈钢管在很多应用中均有使用,包括严苛环境中的气体、蒸汽和液体流动。专门从事这一领域的部分制造商生产可以生产各种规格的无缝不锈钢,直径从一英寸到比发丝还要细应有尽有,而连续长度则可超过一英里。

应用包括:

氢燃料电池

  • 氢燃料电池与传统电池驱动产品在材料处理方面的对比

航空和国防

  • 高压燃料管线
  • 液压系统

热交换器

  • 线圈环绕式换热器

造船

  • 高压燃料管线
  • 液压控制应用

石油和天然气

  • 海底安全阀
  • 控制线
  • CNG和LNG输送
  • 化学注入

色谱分析

  • 长距离的小直径盘管可用于探测诸多高精度系统,以提升取样效率

化学工艺行业

  • 蒸汽和热跟踪管束
  • 流量测量和传感
  • 液体和气体输送

建筑和半结构施工

  • 建筑和装饰管材
  • 扶手

制造流程

生产无缝不锈钢管的典型方法包括挤压、枪孔钻或穿孔。然而,挤压工艺能够实现最为一致的外径,并最终实现具有最佳同轴性的内径。此外,挤压是最合适长距离不锈钢盘管的唯一工艺。原材料的最初形态为热压式无缝圆管。然后会对材料进行冷压。此时,会通过名为皮尔格式轧管机的长直型冷轧管机对原材料进行处理。

由于冷轧管工艺是一种纵向冷轧工艺,能够在一次运行过程中降低钢管的直径和壁厚,所以其能够维持一致的外径和具有卓越同轴性的内径。对特定材料类型而言,此工艺能够在单一作业周期内将横截面降低超过90%。

轧管时需要在内径和外径上使用润滑剂,然后还需要对润滑剂进行去油脂化以准备进行退火。这一工艺通常能够生产轧制后长度范围介于40英尺至160英尺的管材。生产以线圈形式进行加工的长距离无缝管时,冷轧是最为有效的方法。

盘管

直长型管是以线圈形式在特别设计的设备上冷拔而成的。由于冷拔工艺能够缩小外径、内径和壁厚,所以能够在拉拔产品的同时增加管道的长度。

主拉拔类型

业界主要使用两种拉拔操作。

浮塞_1

1) 浮塞

在浮塞拉拔工艺中,会从锥形模具内向外拉拔管材,并且会在内径中插入一个浮塞。形成的内径和壁厚取决于模具和浮塞尺寸。浮塞拉拔工艺制成的产品一致性更佳,更加光滑,但是只能用于相对较为轻型的壁装产品中。

 

无芯棒拔制

2) 无芯棒拔制

在无芯棒拉拔工艺中,会从锥形模具内向外拉拔管材,形成的内径和壁厚由拉拔和管材参数决定。在高压应用中需要重型且相对较厚的壁厚时,会使用无芯棒拉拔工艺。相较于浮塞拉拔工艺,内径通常会粗糙一些。

如上所述,盘管的内径和外径上均需涂抹润滑剂以辅助完成拉拔工艺。对大部分终端使用应用(液体运输、医疗等)而言,后期需要从管材上将润滑剂清除(完成去油脂化)。这一步骤是在大型溶剂去油脂化容器中一次性完成的。

真空退火

在冷压之后,需要对长直型管材和盘管进行退火,来清除内部应力,并恢复材料的晶状结构,以允许完成进一步的冷轧作业。退火工艺中的快速冷却过程能够将冷轧之后既脆且硬的材料在此转化为柔软且具有良好延展性的材料。

这些步骤会重复执行,直至达到理想的尺寸(外径、内径和壁厚)。

结论

此种类型的管材应该按照适用的ASTM标准进行制造,并且应该在准备发货给客户之前对潜在瑕疵进行充分测试。

水压试验

在管材完全成型且达到所需规格后,需要对其进行水压试验以确保完整性。水压试验确定并验证管材符合规格要求。通过验证流程可以获得多种类型的信息。可以通过水压试验流程确定多项关键检测数据,例如:

  • 材料瑕疵
  • 机械属性
  • 有氢气存在时可发生故障的特定硬点

表面处理

不锈钢盘管既可水平缠绕在卷轴上以进行运输,也可按照客户要求拉直并切割成特定长度。可以对产品进行抛光并在产品上用镂花模板印制相关信息,以实现场地可追溯性并识别相关制造信息。

资料来源:

Specialty seamless stainless steel tubing is used in many applications, including the flow of gas, steam and liquid in harsh environments.  Some manufacturers specializing in this field produce seamless, stainless steel tubing ranging from one inch in diameter to finer than a human hair, and in continuous lengths that can exceed a mile.

Applications can include:

Hydrogen Fuel Cells

  • Hydrogen Powered Fuel Cells vs. Battery Powered in Material Handling

Aerospace & Defense

  • High-Pressure Fuel Lines
  • Hydraulic Systems

Heat Exchangers

  • Coil-Wound Heat Exchangers

Shipbuilding

  • High-Pressure Fuel Lines
  • Hydraulic Control Applications

Oil & Gas

  • Sub-Sea Safety Valves
  • Control Lines
  • CNG & LNG Transfer
  • Chemical Injection

Chromatography

  • Long length, small diameter coiled tubing is used to plumb many high-precision systems to increase sampling efficiencies

Chemical Process Industry

  • Steam & Heat Trace Bundles
  • Flow Measurement & Sensing
  • Fluid & Gas Transfer

Architectural & Semi-Structural Construction

  • Architectural & Ornamental  Tubing
  • Hand Rails

Manufacturing Process

Typical methods for manufacturing seamless stainless steel tubing are by extruding, gun drilling or piercing.  However, the extrusion process provides the most uniform OD (outside diameter) and ultimately the most concentric ID (inside diameter).  In addition, extrusion is the only process most suitable for long length seamless stainless steel coil tubing.  The raw material begins in the form of hot extruded seamless pipe.  The material is then cold reduced.  At this point the raw material is processed through tube reducers known as pilger mills in a long straight form.

Cold pilgering is able to maintain uniform ODs and concentric IDs because it is a longitudinal cold-rolling process which reduces the diameter and wall thickness of steel tube in one operation. For specific material types this process achieves cross-section reductions of more than 90 percent in a single working cycle.

Lubricants are used on the OD and ID when reducing the tube, which is then degreased in preparation for annealing.  This process typically produces lengths from around 40 feet to 160 feet in length after reduction.  Cold reducing is the most effective method when manufacturing long lengths of seamless tubing that are to be processed in coil form.

Coiling Tube

Straight lengths of tube are cold drawn in coil form on specially designed equipment. As cold drawing reduces the OD, ID and wall thickness, the tube increases in length as the product is drawn.

Main Drawing Types

There are two main drawing operations used.

Floating_Plug_1

1) Floating Plug

Floating plug drawing is the process in which the tubing is pulled through a conical die and a floating plug is inserted in the ID. The resulting ID and wall thickness is a based on the die and plug size. Floating plugdrawing produces a more consistent, smoother product, but can only be used on relatively light wall products.

 

Sink_Drawing

2) Sink Drawing

Sink drawing is the process in which the tubing is pulled through a conical die and the resulting ID and wall thickness is determined based on the drawing and tubing parameters.  Sink drawing is used when heavy relative wall thickness are required for high-pressure applications. The ID is typically a bit rougher when compared to floating plug drawing.

As mentioned above, the coils of tube have lubricants on the OD and ID to aid in the drawing processes. For most end-use applications (liquid transport, medical, etc.) the lubricant is removed (degreased) from the tube.  This is accomplished in one step in a large solvent degreasing vessel.

Vacuum Annealing

Long straight lengths and coils are annealed after cold reducing in order to remove internal stresses and restore crystalline structure of the material to allow for further cold working.   The rapid cooling of the annealing process converts the cold-worked, brittle and hard material into soft and ductile material again.

These steps are repeated until the desired dimensions (OD, ID and wall thickness) are achieved.

Conclusion

Tubing of this type should be manufactured to applicable ASTM standards and fully tested for potential defects before being prepared for shipment to the customer.

Hydrotest

After the tube is fully formed to the desired specification it is hydrostatically tested to ensure integrity.  Hydrostatic testing determines and verifies the tubing meets the specification.  Several types of information can be obtained through this verification process.  Key inspection data can be identified through the hydrotest process, such as:

  • Material flaws
  • Mechanical properties
  • Specific hard spots that can fail when hydrogen is present

Finishing

Stainless steel coil tubing can be level wound on spools for shipment or straightened and cut to specific lengths designated by the customer.  Products can be polished and stenciled with pertinent information for lot traceability and manufacturing identification.

Sources: