燃料电池技术不仅仅是商业运作一时的热潮。这项技术业已证明,物料搬运车辆可以更环保,更高效,更具成本效益。事实上,在未来几年内,燃料电池技术的需求预计将以两位数增长,其中最大的需求将来自于北美、欧洲和亚太地区的行业。

质子交换膜型燃料电池(PEMFC)在2011年占燃料电池总需求量的大约46.3%。根据Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Energy Association(华盛顿特区,fchea.org)的报告,相对于其他燃料电池类型,PEMFC可在较低的温度(80至200华氏度)下使用,并且能够处理动力输出的突然变化,从而使其非常适合用于为汽车和特种车辆(如叉车)提供动力。

叉车车队使用燃料电池技术

2013年,全美共有超过4,000台以燃料电池为动力的叉车用于物料搬运作业。包括Sysco Foods、FedEx Freight、Walmart、Lowe's、Proctor & Gamble及Coca-Cola在内的美国最知名的一些品牌都深信,由燃料电池驱动的叉车可比电瓶驱动的叉车带来更大的投资回报,同时还可优化运行效率。这让我们有充分的理由相信,这一趋势将持续下去。

Transparency Market Research预测,从2013年到2018年,全球燃料电池市场将以15%的强劲年复合增长率增长。按照这一速度,以美元计算,2018年的燃料电池需求量将从2011年的355.3百万美元增加到910.3百万美元。尽管亚太与北美地区对燃料电池技术的需求最大,但欧洲在不久的将来可能成为最有前途的市场。(参考文献:《燃料电池市场——全球行业分析,规模、份额、趋势、分析、增长和预测,2012-2018年》,TMR)。

那么,是什么推动了氢燃料电池需求的快速增长呢?

燃料电池驱动的叉车车队可带来良好的综合商业效益以及政府对环境可持续性的支持,这很快就会让电瓶驱动的叉车车队显得落伍:

氢燃料电池可以使用铅酸电池的安装空间改装到现有的叉车上,从而避免更换现有资本设备的庞大开销。

加氢站占地面积很小,可轻松整合到现有的基础设施空间。由于省去了电瓶驱动车队所需的备用电瓶贮存区域,因此可腾出宝贵的仓库空间。

通过省却电瓶充电与更换而节省的时间将使净生产率提高大约2%至5%。氢气动力车辆只需五分钟或更短的时间即可在位置便利的加氢站快速完成加氢。此外,氢气燃料电池系统可以在停电时取代备用电瓶和发电机系统,运行时间长达52小时。

与电瓶产生的副产物相比,氢燃料系统仅会产生电力、余热和水,因此公司在转换为燃料电池动力叉车车队与备用供电系统之后,其温室气体排放将显著减少。对于正在推动法规以减少温室气体排放的政府来说,这无疑也是个好消息。

氢燃料电池技术的光明前景

从2013年到2018年,对PEMFC的需求预计将以11.5%的复合年增长率增长。主要用于固定式发电的熔融碳酸盐燃料电池(MCFC)的需求量预计在同一时期将达到17.8%的复合年增长率。MCFC在2011年占总需求量的39.2%,但按照这个预测增长率,它应该会超过对PEMFC的需求。

从全球角度来看,受监管支持、政府认可以及近期出现的积极技术创新的推动,燃料电池技术目前在北美市场占据着主导地位。预计到2018年,美国将成为最大的燃料电池汽车市场之一。亚太地区是另一个极其强劲的燃料电池市场,其2013年到2018年的需求预计将以大约12%的复合年增长率增长。鉴于对可持续发展及监管政策的大力推动,欧洲有望成为这三个主要地区中增长速度最快的市场。

在对工业的影响方面,美国能源部发布的一项研究显示,随着越来越多的企业从由蓄电池提供动力的叉车改为采用氢燃料电池技术,支持该行业的供应链预计将以大约15%的复合年增长率增长。

请点击下面的链接,了解有关用于物料搬运设备的氢燃料电池的更多信息:

关于作者

HandyTube公司隶属于Handy & Harman公司,是一家生产超长氢输送管道的优质制造商。HandyTube的无缝不锈钢盘管还用于石油和天然气、化学工艺、造船、仪器仪表、航空航天和国防、过程自动化以及生命科学行业。公司近期的发展重心之一是将其久经考验的加长氢输送管道拓展至氢燃料电池市场。

您可以拨打+1 302.697.9521联系HandyTube

内容来源包括Plug Power

Fuel cell technology is much more than a passing fad for commercial operations. It’s a technology that has proven that material-handling vehicles can be greener, more productive and more cost-efficient. In fact, over the next few years, the demand for fuel cell technology is expected to grow by double digits, with the greatest demand being driven by industries in North America, Europe and Asia Pacific.

Proton exchange membrane type fuel cells made up about 46.3 percent of the demand for fuel cells in 2011. PEMFCs operate at a low temperature (80 to 200 degrees Fahrenheit) relative to other fuel cell types and are capable of handling sudden shifts in power output, making them ideal for powering the acceleration in cars and specialty vehicles, like forklifts, according to the Fuel Cell & Hydrogen Energy Association (Washington, D.C., fchea.org).

Forklift Fleets use Fuel Cell Technology

More than 4,000 fuel cell-powered forklifts were used in U.S. material handling operations in 2013. Some of the country’s best known brands, including Sysco Foods, FedEx Freight, Walmart, Lowe’s, Proctor & Gamble and Coca-Cola, are convinced by the data that lift trucks driven by fuel cells instead of batteries generate a bigger payback and offer streamlined efficiencies in their operations. These are good reasons for the trend to continue.

Transparency Market Research forecasts the global fuel cell market to grow at a strong annual compound growth rate of 15 percent from 2013 to 2018. At this rate, in U.S. dollars, fuel cell demand will be worth $910.3 million in 2018, up from $355.3 million in 2011. While the Asia Pacific and North America regions create the greatest demand for fuel cell technology, Europe could be the most promising market in the near future. (Ref. “Fuel Cells Market – Global Industry Analysis, Size, Share, Trends, Analysis, Growth and Forecast, 2012–2018,” by TMR).

So, what is driving this rapidly increasing demand for hydrogen fuel cells?

Fuel cell-powered forklift fleets offer a favorable combination of business benefits plus government support for environmental sustainability that is quickly making battery-operated forklift fleets seem obsolete:

Hydrogen fuel cells can be retrofitted into existing forklift trucks in the space required by lead batteries, avoiding burdensome replacement of existing capital equipment.

Small-footprint hydrogen refueling stations can easily integrate into the existing infrastructure space. The elimination of spare battery storage areas, necessary for battery-powered fleets, frees-up precious warehouse floor space.

Time saved by eliminating battery recharging and change-outs results in about two to five percent net productivity gains. Hydrogen-powered vehicles are quickly refueled at conveniently located fueling stations in just five minutes or less. In addition, hydrogen fuel cell systems can replace redundant battery and generator systems with up to 52 hours of runtime in the case of a power outage.

In contrast to the byproducts produced by batteries, the hydrogen fuel systems produce electricity, excess heat and water, resulting in significantly lower greenhouse emissions for the company converting to a fleet of fuel cell-powered forklifts and backup power systems. This is good news for governments promoting regulations to reduce greenhouse gasses.

Bright Outlook for Hydrogen Fuel Cell Technology

The demand for PEMFCs is expected to grow at a CAGR of 11.5 percent from 2013 to 2018. The demand for molten carbonate fuel cells, used mainly for stationary power generation, is expected to grow at a CAGR of 17.8 percent during the same period. MCFC accounted for 39.2 percent of the total demand in 2011, but at this forecasted growth rate it should surpass the demand for PEMFC.

From a global perspective, fuel cell technology is currently more dominant in North America due to regulatory support, governmental acceptance and the aggressive technological innovation push seen in recent times. The U.S. is expected to emerge as one of the biggest markets for fuel cell vehicles by 2018. Asia Pacific is the other major region where the fuel cell market is very strong with demand expected to grow at a CAGR of about 12 percent from 2013 to 2018. Based on the strong push for sustainability and regulatory policies, Europe is expected to grow at the highest rate among these three major regions.

In terms of impact to industry, according to a study published by the U.S. Department of Energy, as more organizations shift from battery-powered lift trucks to hydrogen fuel cell technology, the supply chain supporting the industry is expected to grow at a CAGR of about 15 percent.

Click below to read more about hydrogen fuel cells for material handling equipment:

About the Author

HandyTube Corporation, a Handy & Harman Company, is a premium manufacturer of long-length hydrogen tubing. HandyTube’s seamless, stainless steel coils are also used in applications for the oil and gas, chemical process, shipbuilding, instrumentation, aerospace and defense, process automation and life sciences industries. A recent corporate focus is to expand its proven long-length hydrogen tubing into the hydrogen fuel cell market.

You can contact HandyTube at +1 302.697.9521

Content sources include Plug Power.