消防队员在执行任务时面临许多危险。最大的危险包括受热或空气流失造成的伤害或死亡。为了在火灾期间呼吸到空气,消防员接受使用SCBA(自给式呼吸器)的训练。他们背上的氧气罐就是他们的生命线。如果消防员在扑救火灾时空气不足,消防员很可能无法活着走出火灾现场。

引发新操作程序的一个案例

RescueAir
2001年凤凰城消防队员/医务人员Bret Tarver的惨死(他在一家大型商场大火救火时空气耗尽),促使人们寻找新方法来保护消防员免于在火灾中无法呼吸空气。结果是加利福尼亚州圣卡洛斯的RescueAir与凤凰城亚利桑那州消防局及亚利桑那州公共服务公司(APS)建立合资企业开发了同类首款空气补给系统。该装置于2004年在APS新建20层总部大楼投入使用。APS是亚利桑那州规模最大、服务时间最长的电力公用事业公司,为该州15个县中的11个县超过110万客户提供服务。

与此同时,RescueAir的工作人员与凤凰城消防局的预防和运营专家合作,帮助开发一套规范语言,以指定他们想要的确切系统。在2004年春天,凤凰城消防局推进了一项建议,将消防员空气补给系统添加到该市的建筑规范中。市议会立即采纳了此建议。此后不久,该地区的一些城市采用了类似的要求。从那时起,全国各地都采用了类似的建筑法规。

管轴上的盘管 结果是开发出一套系列,现在消防局称之为消防员空气补给系统(FARS)。根据国际消防法规的定义,FARS是一种永久性安装的管道、阀门、配件和设备组合,以便为从事紧急行动的消防员补充SCBA中的呼吸空气。消防员使用FARS,可在火灾或空气质量受损的紧急情况下在建筑物内重新填充空气罐。FARS空气补充站位于整个建筑物的关键位置,使消防员可以在复杂建筑物(如高层建筑、大型水平结构,如会议中心、大型商场、购物中心和隧道系统)中快速获取恒定、安全和可靠的呼吸空气。

FARS_system_access_box在紧急情况下,消防员可以在一分钟内在典型FARS补给站给SCBA气罐补充空气。从历史上看,消防员需要手动携带(至少)一个25磅[[#1]}分钟的空气供应瓶上楼梯或深入燃烧的建筑物中。建筑消防员通常携带一把斧头、一部收音机和一个手电筒,可能还有一台热成像相机,总重量从66到77磅不等。加起来,消防员可能携带100磅的设备进入火海。

经过全国消防部门多年的现场测试和采用FARS系统,RescueAir开发的FARS系统已添加到国际消防法规2015附录L《消防员空气补给系统要求》中。 FARS已证明是下一代技术,可确保在中高层建筑、大型复杂水平结构和隧道中,在消防员最需要的地方提供安全、高效和可靠的呼吸空气来源。

在典型的FARS空气加注站,消防员可以使用遍布整个建筑物中关键位置的空气补给面板或防爆容器站,在不到两分钟的时间内补充其SCBA气罐。

FARS_tanksFARS提供消防员在完全呼吸的状态下一边使用气罐一边重新填充气罐的选项,这在该系统引入之前尚未完成。该系统使消防员可以持续获取呼吸空气,在紧急行动期间提高安全性和效率及灵活性。

如今,美国各地的350多栋建筑物都配备了FARS。RescueAir与美国的顶级建筑、工程和施工公司合作,将其FARS系统整合到主要工程项目中,包括:

  • 加利福尼亚州旧金山的无限塔(Infinity Towers)
  • 加利福尼亚州雷德伍德海岸的艺电(Electronic Arts)总部
  • 加利福尼亚州圣何塞市的圣何塞市政中心
  • 加利福尼亚州萨克拉门托的司法局大楼
  • 内华达州里诺的Silver Legacy酒店及赌场
  • 俄勒冈州斯普林菲尔德的Peace Health医疗中心
  • 亚利桑那州凤凰城的亚利桑那公共服务总部
  • 佛罗里达州博因顿海滩的Promenade Condominium项目

无缝不锈钢连续油管 - FARS生命线

FARS系统的一个必需组成部分是无缝316不锈钢高压管。作为如何在这些系统中指定无缝管的示例,旧金山消防局FARS规范指出:

  1. 管道应为不锈钢,与高压呼吸空气兼容,并且至少应符合ASTM A-269,316或更高等级。不锈钢管应至少为外径.375x.065壁316完全退火无缝。管道和弯管的布线应能保护管道免受机械损坏。未经旧金山消防局的特别书面许可,禁止使用其他类型的管道或配件。
  2. 所用管材的额定压力应为至少7500 psi。管材应为不锈钢。

管材的优势

FARS_tubing不锈钢连续油管将系统的外部流动空气连接面板连接到空气监测系统,然后空气监测系统将压缩的呼吸空气供应到建筑物内的填充板。管道还用于连接建筑物各层的填充板。在概念上与水立管类似,它可以快速有效地提供恒定可靠的空气源。

  • 长盘管 - 可以目视进行切割和弯曲,无需使用多个配件。
  • 省时 - 无需雇用焊工将管子连接在一起。
  • 高效 - 更容易安装在高层建筑中,因为使用更少的工人便可将盘管拉到建筑物的底部。

移动空气单元(MAU)卡车

FARS_Truck_2为了进一步促进FARS的效率,可以部署消防部门的移动空气单元(MAU)作为FARS现场空气存储系统的后备。一些MAU还可用于补给街道上的消防员气罐。一旦MAU车辆到达现场,便可连接建筑物外部的FARS MAU连接面板,为消防员和建筑物内的其他紧急救援人员提供持续的空气供应。 MAU可以有不同的形式,是FARS系统的重要组成部分。 MAU可承载高达300英尺的高压管线,以实现最佳补给。

使用MAU卡车的特定消防和救援部门:

  • 费尔法克斯县弗吉尼亚州消防和救援部门
  • 得克萨斯州本德堡县 - 应急管理办公室
  • 亚利桑那州格伦代尔 - 格伦代尔地区公共安全局
  • 肯塔基州列克星敦消防局
  • 伊利诺伊州芝加哥消防部门
  • 乔治亚州亚特兰大消防部门

资料来源:

Firefighters face many dangers in the line of duty. Among the greatest dangers are injury or loss of life from heat exposure or from running out of air.  To access breathing air during a fire, firefighters are trained to use SCBA (self-contained breathing apparatus). The tanks they carry on their backs are their lifeline. If a firefighter runs out of air while fighting a fire, he or she very well may not make it out alive.

One Case That Triggered New Operating Procedures

RescueAir
The tragic death in 2001 of Phoenix Firefighter/Paramedic Bret Tarver, who ran out of air while fighting a large box store fire, was the catalyst to find new methods to protect firefighters from losing access to air in a fire.  The result was a first of its kind air replenishment system developed by RescueAir of San Carlos, California, in a joint venture with the Phoenix, Arizona Fire Department and the Arizona Public Service Company (APS). The unit was put into service in 2004 in APS’s new 20-story headquarters building.  APS is Arizona’s largest and longest-serving electricity utility, serving more than 1.1 million customers in 11 of the state’s 15 counties.

At the same time, RescueAir personnel worked with prevention and operations specialists from the Phoenix Fire Department to help develop code language that specified the exact system they wanted.  In the spring of 2004, the Phoenix Fire Department went forward with a recommendation to add the firefighter air replenishment system to the city’s building code. The council immediately adopted it. Shortly thereafter, a number of cities in the area adopted similar requirements.  Since then, similar building codes have been adopted throughout the country.

Coiledtubingonspool The result was the development of what the fire service now calls a Firefighter Air Replenishment System (FARS).  Defined by the International Fire Code, FARS is a permanently installed arrangement of piping, valves, fittings and equipment to facilitate the replenishment of breathing air in SCBA for firefighters engaged in emergency operations. FARS allows firefighters to refill their air tanks inside a structure during a fire or any emergency where air quality is compromised. FARS air refill stations are strategically located throughout the structure, providing firefighters with quick access to a constant, safe and reliable source of breathing air in complex structures such as high-rises, large horizontal structures such as convention centers, big box stores, shopping malls and tunnel systems.

FARS_system_access_boxIn the event of an emergency, a firefighter can replenish the air in his or her SCBA tank at a typical FARS fill station within one minute. Historically, firefighters needed to manually carry (at least) one 25-pound, 30-minute air supply bottles up the stairs or deep into a burning structure .   Structural firefighters typically carry an ax, a radio and a flashlight, and possibly a thermal imaging camera for a total gear weight ranging from 66 to 77 pounds.  Added all up, a firefighter may carry 100 pounds of equipment into an inferno.

After years of field-testing and adoption of FARS systems by fire departments throughout the country, the FARS system developed by RescueAir was added  to the International Fire Code of 2015 Appendix L entitled “Requirements for Firefighter Air Replenishment Systems.” FARS has proven to be the next generation technology, ensuring a safe, efficient and reliable source of breathing air where firefighters need it most — within mid- to high-rise buildings, large complex horizontal structures and tunnels

At a typical FARS air fill station, a firefighter can replenish the air in his or her SCBA tank in less than two minutes, using refill panels or rupture containment stations located strategically throughout the structure.

FARS_tanksFARS provides the option to re-fill air tanks while in use by firefighters under full respiration, which had not been done before this system was introduced.  The system provides firefighters continuous access to breathing air, increased safety and efficiency and greater flexibility during emergency operations.

Today more than 350 buildings across the United States are equipped with FARS. RescueAir has worked with the country’s top architectural, engineering and construction companies to integrate their FARS systems into major projects, including:

  • Infinity Towers in San Francisco, CA
  • Electronic Arts headquarters in Redwood Shores, CA
  • San Jose Civic Center in San Jose, CA
  • Department of Justice building in Sacramento, CA
  • Silver Legacy Hotel Casino in Reno, NV
  • Peace Health Medical Center in Springfield, OR
  • Arizona Public Service headquarters in Phoenix, AZ
  • Promenade Condominium project in Boynton Beach, FL

Seamless Stainless Steel Coiled Tubing – the FARS Lifeline

An integral component of the FARS system is seamless 316 stainless steel high-pressure tubing.  As an example of how seamless tubing is specified to be used in these systems, the San Francisco Fire Department FARS Specification states:

  1. Tubing shall be stainless steel, compatible with high pressure breathing air, and shall at least meet ASTM A-269, Grade 316 or better. Stainless steel tubing shall be a minimum .375 outside diameter x .065 wall 316 fully annealed seamless. Routing of tubing and bends shall be such as to protect the tubing from mechanical damage. The use of other types of tubing or fittings is prohibited without the specific written approval of the San Francisco Fire Department.
  2. The tubing used shall be rated for a minimum pressure of 7500 psi.  Tubing shall be stainless steel.

Tubing Advantage

FARS_tubingCoil stainless steel tubing connects the system’s exterior mobile air connection panel to the air monitoring system, which then supplies the compressed breathing air to the filling panels inside a structure.  Tubing is also used to connect the refill panels on various levels of the building. Similar in concept to a water standpipe, it delivers a constant reliable source of air quickly and efficiently.

  • Long length coil tubing – Can be cut and bent on sight, eliminating the need for multiple fittings.
  • Time Savings – No need to hire a welder to join the tubes together.
  • High Efficiency – Easier to install in high-rise buildings as the coils can be pulled to the bottom of the building with “less hands on deck.”

Mobile Air Unit (MAU) Trucks

FARS_Truck_2To further facilitate an efficient FARS, a fire department’s mobile air unit (MAU) may be deployed to serve as back up to the FARS onsite air storage system. Some MAUs may also be used to replenish a firefighter’s tank at street level.  Once the MAU vehicle arrives on site, it hooks into the FARS MAU connection panel on the outside of the structure to provide a continuous supply of air to firefighters and other emergency responders within the structure.  The MAU can come in different forms, and is an important component of the system. MAUs carry up to 300 feet of high-pressure line for optimal refilling.

Select Fire & Rescue Departments Utilizing MAU Trucks:

  • Fairfax County Virginia Fire and Rescue Department
  • Fort Bend County, Texas – Office of Emergency Management
  • Glendale, Arizona – Glendale Regional Public Safety
  • Lexington, Kentucky Fire Department
  • Chicago, Illinois Fire Departments
  • Atlanta, Georgia Fire Department

Sources: