埋设长距离的高压不锈钢管时需要考虑许多因素,特别是较大的直径(1/2"至1")。传统的方法是将20英尺长的“棒”管焊接在一起。正确安装后,机械配件可提供无泄漏连接。不过,如果操作正确,焊接在技术上比使用机械配件更合适,但仍有可能发生泄漏。由于涉及到劳动力,因此不锈钢管的焊接棒也极其昂贵,这包括检查每个焊缝的要求。

随着热处理技术的进步,大直径无缝不锈钢管的盘管可以进行特殊退火,以便在制造过程中有足够的延展性来安全地卷绕管道,并允许在现场安全地展开。最好使用特殊的开卷或拉直工具进行开卷。

能够生产长距离大直径无缝不锈钢管的制造商数量有限。有些制造商甚至能够在没有任何纵向或轨道焊接的情况下生产长度超过6,000英尺(2 km)的盘管。使用无缝盘管时,不存在通常与焊接管相关的杂质风险。这种特性使无缝管成为关键应用的首选。

超长距离不锈钢管的最佳应用之一是建设天然气加气站时的地下高压管线。随着道路上天然气汽车数量的增加,对天然气加气站的需求也在不断增长。直到最近几年,CNG(压缩天然气)加气站的基础设施仍然十分稀少。如今,据估计全球有超过12百万辆CNG车辆正在道路上行驶。这些车辆大部分位于中东,在这里,相关技术和基础设施已经存在十余年。然而,美国的公共和私人CNG加气站却不到1,300座。不过,这个数字每年都在大幅增长。

CNG加气站的建设需要在地下埋设直径为1/2英寸或3/4英寸的不锈钢管,有时从压缩机到高压存储容器之间的距离达数百英尺,之后输送至燃气分配器(气泵),分配器通常与长度为3或4的管捆绑在一个大直径导管或管道中。由于存在潜在的泄漏风险,因此禁止使用不合格的机械配件。

传统的长棒焊接方法是使它们穿过导管的部分,然后将其放置在沟槽中,这是一种劳动密集程度较高的过程。承包商通常要么通过导管铺设多条½英寸棒管,然后对无缝管进行端对端(1 x .120 [4700 psi])焊接,要么对无缝不锈钢管进行端对端(1"SCH160)焊接。这种焊接过程非常缓慢且成本高昂。

不过,借助合适的工具,可以通过导管馈入长盘管,这不仅通过缩短时间降低了人工成本,而且还实现了更安全和免维护的安装。尽管使用盘管式不锈钢管是这些应用的实用解决方案,但重要的是确保管的壁厚是合适的。有些制造商专门为此应用设计了管道,以便承受与输送压缩气体相关的极端压力。常规加气站使用较短的长度来运输CNG。它们可提供精确、长度连续的无缝管,无需任何纵向或轨道焊接,从而满足每个加气站的独特要求,同时消除了安装较短长度时所需的不必要劳动。在此类高压过程中使用的焊接、轨道或纵向和机械配件会带来发生缺陷的机会,这经常导致不方便且昂贵的维修。

为了缓解这些问题,已经开发出一些方法来拉直盘管并使管道弯曲至具有足够的半径(最大½英寸外径)。但是,¾英寸管道所需的力阻止了其广泛采用,或者需要使用机械弯管接头配件才能实现铺设。但是,如前面所述,防火安全标准不允许在地下使用配件。因此,通过结合新的工具和技术,安装人员现在可以使用一些制造商提供的机械矫直机在作业现场拉直和弯曲¾英寸盘管。这些工具通过重型弯管机和弯管器弯头操作。根据所需的平直度,通过手动或碰撞连接将管道拉过矫直机,连接到现场的作业卡车。

在某些商业建筑作业中,可以找到用于长距离无缝不锈钢管的其他应用;这些不锈钢管穿过地板、天花板、墙壁或走道。此外,还有许多应用需要沿着发电厂和炼油厂的通道布设长距离高压管。长距离无缝不锈钢盘管具有许多优点,例如:

  • 提高耐腐蚀性
  • 提高可靠性 - 使用更少的机械配件或焊接减少了发生缺陷的机会,例如泄漏和其他长期故障
  • 降低安装人工成本 - 安装长距离无缝管所需的时间更短,并且比连接多根较短的管道更可靠

当批准任何类型的加油站(天然气、柴油、CNG或LNG)开业运营时,当地的消防队长拥有最终决定权。通过无缝不锈钢管线输送高压压缩天然气是一种最有利的方法,将在检验日得到充分证明。

在CNG站的建设中使用专业制造的长盘管可实现下列关键优势:

  • 显著降低安装成本
  • 减少或消除焊接和配件
  • 提高可靠性并减少潜在的缺陷或泄漏点

下载我们的白皮书以了解更多信息:

长无缝盘管降低了CNG站的安装成本

有关更多信息,请联系HandyTube

Coil_SS Tubing_spoolThere are many factors to take into account when running long lengths of high pressure stainless steel tubing, especially larger diameters (1/2” to 1”).  The conventional method is to weld 20 foot lengths of ‘stick’ tube together.  With proper installation, mechanical fittings can provide a leak free connection. When done properly however, a weld is technically more suitable than using a mechanical fitting, but there is still a potential for leaks.  Welding sticks of stainless tubing is also costly due to the labor involved, which includes the requirement of inspection of each weld.

With advances in heat treat technology, coils of large diameter seamless stainless tube can be specially annealed to allow for enough malleability to safely coil the tubing during manufacturing, and permit safe uncoiling in the field.  Uncoiling is best accomplished with a special uncoiling or straightening tool.

There are a limited number of manufacturers capable of producing long lengths of large diameter seamless stainless tubing in coils.  Some are even able to achieve coils that exceed 6,000 feet (2 km) in length without any longitudinal or orbital welds. When using seamless coil tubing, there is no risk of impurities that are often associated with welding tube. This makes seamless the preferred option for critical applications.

Stainless tubing in trenchOne of the best applications for extra-long length stainless tubing is underground high-pressure lines with building natural gas fueling stations.  With the increase in the number of natural gas vehicles on the road, the demand for natural gas fueling stations has grown.  Until recent years, the infrastructure of CNG (compressed natural gas) fueling stations was non-existent.  Today, it is estimated that over 12 million CNG vehicles worldwide are on the road. The majority of these vehicles are in the Middle East, where this technology and the infrastructure has been in place for over a decade.  However, there are less than 1,300 public and private CNG fueling stations in the U.S.  Yet, the number is growing significantly each year.

Construction of CNG fueling stations requires running ½” or ¾” diameter stainless tube underground for sometimes hundreds of feet from a compressor to high-pressure storage vessels and then to the fueling dispenser (pump), often bundled with 3 or 4 lengths of tube in one large diameter conduit or pipe.  Due to potential leaks, the use of mechanical fittings below grade is prohibited.

The traditional method of welding long sticks, running them through sections of conduit, and then placing it in a trench, is a very labor intensive procedure.  Contractors typically either lay multiple lines of ½” stick tubing through conduit, weld seamless tubing end‐to‐end (1 x .120 [4700 psi]), or weld seamless stainless steel pipe end‐to‐end (1”SCH160). This welding process is very slow and costly.

However, with the right tools, feeding long lengths of coiled tubing through conduit not only takes a fraction of the time, reducing labor costs, it also provides for a much safer and maintenance free installation.  Though using coiled stainless tubing is the practical solution for these applications, it is important to insure the wall thickness of the tube is suitable.  Some manufacturers have designed tubing specifically for this application to withstand extreme pressures associated with transporting compressed gas.  Conventional stations use shorter lengths to transport CNG.  They provide seamless tubing in exact, continuous lengths without any longitudinal or orbital welds that meet the unique requirements of each station, eliminating unnecessary labor associated with installing shorter lengths. Welds, orbital or longitudinal, and mechanical fittings used in high-pressure processes, such as this, present an opportunity for defect, often resulting in inconvenient and costly repairs.

Long stainless steel tubeTo alleviate these problems, methods have been developed to straighten coiled tubing and bend the tube with sufficient radii up to ½” OD.  But the forces required for ¾” tubing have prevented its widespread adoption, or required use of mechanical union elbow fittings to achieve routing.  Though, as mentioned previously, fire safety standards do not permit the use of fittings underground.  Therefore, by combining new tooling and techniques, an installer can now straighten and bend ¾” coil tubing on the job site using a mechanical straightener provided by some manufacturers.  These tools operate via a heavy duty conduit bender and hickey bending head. The tubing is pulled through the straightener by a hand or bump‐hitch connection to a site work truck, depending on the required straightness.

Other applications for long lengths of seamless stainless tubing may be found in certain commercial construction jobs; through floors, ceilings, walls or catwalks.  There are also many applications that require running long lengths of high pressure tube through runways at power plants and refineries.  Long lengths of coiled seamless stainless steel tubing have many advantages, such as:

  • Increased corrosion resistance
  • Improved reliability—using fewer mechanical fittings or welds reduces the opportunity for defect, such as leaks and other long-term failures
  • Reduced installation labor costs—installing continuous length of seamless tube takes less time and is more reliable than coupling multiple shorter lengths

The local fire marshal has the ultimate say when it comes to approving a fueling station of any type (gas, diesel, CNG or LNG) to open for operation.  Transporting highly pressurized compressed natural gas through a seamless stainless steel line will prove to be the most favorable method on inspection day.

Using specialty manufactured long coiled tubing has key advantages in construction of CNG stations:

  • Significantly reduces installation costs
  • Reduces or eliminates welding and fittings
  • Improves reliability and reduces potential defects or leak points

Download our white paper to learn more:

CNG Tubing

For more information contact HandyTube.