高精度无缝不锈钢毛细管可用于各种仪器测量应用。基于厚壁和小径结构(通常为1/8''或更小),这种管材适用于从核反应堆到航空航天推进器等各种关键应用。

关键用途

生命科学市场的技术进步导致较小的组件需要在更高的操作压力下工作。超小径毛细管对高性能和超高效液相色谱(HPLC和UPLC)设备的性能至关重要。这种毛细管的外径通常小于1/16英寸(1.59 mm),可应用于许多关键应用。此外,关键应用中的无缝毛细管还提高了必要的采样效率。

HPLC是实验室中最通用的分析“工具”之一。即便如此,许多色谱工作者面临着共同的“障碍”,例如:谱带增宽、分辨率差以及不良峰形。在为HPLC应用选择管材时,考虑以下因素至关重要:

  • 最佳材料
  • 最佳尺寸
  • 适当的管道制备(平坦、无毛刺端和通孔中心切口)

毛细管剖面图
不锈钢管不同切割方法的比较
照片提供者: SeparationScience

 

许多这类应用需要光滑的毛细管来限制样品定量环中的牛顿流动,以确保获得更好的样品读数。

某些专业制造技术能够实现这些应用中所需的关键产品清洁度。杂质(例如不锈钢毛细管制造过程中残留的油、油脂和其他异物)会导致交叉污染和样品读数不准确。在安装前,传统管道通常需要在现场进行额外的清洁。为了最大限度地降低交叉污染的风险并节省时间,我们开发了一些特殊工艺。毛细管管轴在这些流程期间,将在制造过程后立即对管道进行高压和高温清洁,以去除残留的杂质。这样便可确保管道中的杂质较少并实现样品的完整性,从而提供可重复的一致性结果。

优势

由于高质量的无缝毛细管由单一均质钢制成,具有连续、不间断的颗粒结构,因此更适合整个管道中需要一致材料的应用。焊缝和机械配件允许出现中断,这可能导致缝隙腐蚀和机械故障。

高质量的不锈钢允许在有氧条件下于表面上形成被动保护层。由于不同的合金元素具有不同的熔点,因此,不良的热处理和焊接会通过改变热影响区(HAZ)中的关键化学成分来影响该层。

应用场所

高精度毛细管广泛用于许多仪器系统,具体包括:

  • HPLC管
  • UPLC管
  • 科里奥利管
  • 远程密封压力变送器管
  • 护套管
  • 液压管

一些应用需要长距离不锈钢盘管,这种情况下,长管道中的接头(焊接或装配)是不可接受的。不过,有许多关键毛细管应用需要很短的管道。

使用这种毛细管的其他高精度设备包括:

  • 压力表
  • 流量计
  • 压力表和传感器
  • 差压变送器
  • 压力、液位、流量和温度变送器
  • 波登管压力表
  • 科里奥利流量计

 

资料来源:

High precision, seamless stainless steel capillary tubing is used in a wide range of instrumentation measurement applications.  Based on heavy wall, small diameter construction (typically 1/8” or less), this tubing is used in critical applications from nuclear reactors to resistojets in aerospace.

Critical Uses

Technological advancements in the life sciences market have resulted in smaller assemblies working under increased operating pressures. Ultra-small diameter capillary tubing is crucial to the performance of High Performance and Ultra-Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC and UPLC) equipment. This capillary tubing, often with outside diameters less than 1/16th inch (1.59 mm) is used in many critical applications. In addition, seamless capillary tubing in crucial applications increases necessary sampling efficiencies.

HPLC is one of the most versatile analysis “tools” in the laboratory. Even so, there are common ‘hurdles’ many chromatographers face, such as; band broadening, poor resolution, and undesirable peak shapes.  When selecting tubing for HPLC applications it is crucial to consider:

  • Best material
  • Best size
  • Proper tubing preparation (flat, burr-free end and thru-hole centered cut)

Capillary_tube_cut-away
Comparing Different Cutting Methods for Stainless Steel Tubing
Photo curtesy of SeparationScience

 

Many of these applications require smooth-bore capillaries to limit Newtonian flow through the sample loop to ensure in a better sample read.

Certain specialized manufacturing techniques allow for critical product cleanliness required in these applications. Impurities, such as oil, grease and other foreign material leftover from the manufacturing process of stainless steel capillary tubing can result in cross-contamination and inaccurate sample readings. Conventional tubing typically requires additional cleaning on-site, prior to installation. To minimize the risk of cross-contamination and save time, special processes have been developed, Capillary_tubing_spoolduring which tubing is subjected to high pressure and temperature cleaning immediately following the manufacturing process to remove residual impurities. This ensures tubing with fewer impurities and allows for sample integrity, providing repeatably consistent results.

Benefits

Because high quality seamless capillary tube is made from a single homogeneous piece of steel with a continuous, uninterrupted grain structure, it is more suitable for applications which require consistent material throughout the tubing.  Welds and mechanical fittings permit discontinuities that can encourage crevice corrosion and mechanical failure.

High quality stainless steel allows for the formation of a passive protective layer at the surface in the presence of oxygen.  Poor heat treatment and welding can affect this layer by changing the critical chemical composition in the Heat Affected Area (HAZ) due to the different alloying elements having differing melting points.

Applications

High precision capillary tube is used in many Instrumentation systems which include the use of:

  • HPLC tubing
  • UPLC tubing
  • Coriolis tubing
  • Remote seal pressure transmitter tubing
  • Sheath tubing
  • Hydraulic tubing

Some applications require long lengths of stainless steel coil tubing where joints (welds or fittings) are not acceptable over long runs.  However, there are many critical capillary applications which require short lengths of tubing.

Other high precision devices which use this type of capillary tubing include:

  • Manometers
  • Flow Meters
  • Pressure meters & sensors
  • Differential pressure transducers
  • Pressure, level, flow and temperature transmitters
  • Bourdon-tube gauges
  • Coriolis flow meters

 

Sources: