毛细管是仪器管材的重要组成部分,因为它具有实现一致结果所需的准确性和可靠性。毛细管通常具有1/16"或更小的外径。它们由制造仪器设备(如压力、液位、流量或温度变送器)的原始设备制造商(OEM)使用。尽管一些毛细管应用的直径达到了1/8外径,但大多数应用都采用较小的直径并与系统和设备集成。压力或液位变送器将毛细管作为其测量回路的一部分。

在远程密封应用中,带或不带不锈钢铠装的不锈钢毛细管在压力仪表和隔膜密封之间提供连接。它可以保护压力仪表免受高温或低温过程的影响,并提供远距离或远程读数。

波登管压力计是一种用于测量气体或液体压力的仪表,由一个半圆形或盘绕的柔性金属管组成,此金属管连接到一个仪表上,记录管道内部气体或液体的压力使管道变直的程度。“C”和“螺旋”形波登管是典型示例。

在其他应用中,使用隔膜密封的差压变送器可应用于流量测量。在本例中使用时,毛细管利用位于管内的液体将压力从隔膜传递到变送器。温度的变化会影响这种液体的浓度,因此安装过程是一个关键因素。管道必须设计成在两个毛细管中保持相同的液体温度。

对于变送器中传感元件的高压侧和低压侧,规定毛细管应具有相同的长度和内部容积。毛细管上一致的内径对仪器的准确性和性能至关重要。如果设计系统时没有考虑这些因素,则可能发生膨胀变化,从而产生不准确的结果。从流量计的机械意义上看也是如此,因为流量计的元件抽头通常十分接近,因此从变送器到每个抽头的距离应该相同。

如Spitzer和Boyes LLC的David W. Spitzer所述,毛细管中的液体与蒸汽流量计密封的不同之处在于毛细管中的液体会被捕获。因此,一根毛细管中液体的膨胀将导致液体体积改变并影响差压测量。本质上,当毛细管处于相同温度时,差压变送器将近似抵消相等长度(和液体体积)的毛细管的膨胀和密度效应。但是,变送器两侧的毛细管长度不等(以及液体体积不等)会影响测量,因为不同的毛细管长度(和体积)会导致不同的膨胀量。因此,我们不仅希望管的长度相等,还要求处于相同的温度下。

毛细管配件当需要非常高的温度范围时,设计中应包含隔膜密封和毛细管。在测量高温介质的压力时经常使用隔膜密封。这种密封可将介质与变送器和管(可以长达数英尺)隔离,从而隔绝极端温度。为保持准确性,毛细管不应暴露在过高的温度下,长度不得超过25英尺(7.5米)。

隔膜密封与毛细管在容器处于压力下的液位测量应用中,回路的一端放置在容器的底部,而另一端放置在容器的顶部。压力差用于计算液位。最昂贵的组件是传感模块,它允许使用可馈入两个测量值的单个设备。因此,它也比使用两个独立的设备更准确。

毛细管还可与危险区域防爆压力变送器一起使用,专门设计用于满足石油和天然气压力监测应用的耐用性和性能要求。这些压力变送器是许多石油和天然气行业相关应用的理想选择。常见用途包括测量套管和管道压力、井口监测、管道输送以及诸多炼油厂应用。

结论:

管道在这种应用中至关重要,经常会被忽视。管道选择不正确会使高精度设备不准确,并导致该设备在最终用户的眼里变得一文不值。此外,随着压力不断提高,灾难性故障的风险始终存在。高质量、一致的管道可将风险降至接近零的程度。

资料来源:

流量控制

WIKA

OMEGA

Capillaries are essential components for instrument tubing because of the accuracy and reliability needed to allow for consistent results.  Capillary tubes are typically 1/16 OD or smaller.  They are used by OEMs that make instrumentation devices such as pressure, level, flow or temperature transmitters.  Though some capillary applications are as large 1/8th OD, most are of smaller diameters and integrated with systems and devices. A pressure or level transmitter will have capillary tubing as part of its measuring loop.

In remote seal applications, stainless steel capillary with or without stainless steel armor provides a connection between the pressure instrument and the diaphragm seal. It protects the pressure instrument from high or low process temperatures and provides distant or remote readings.

A Bourdon-tube gauge is an instrument for measuring the pressure of gases or liquids, consisting of a semicircular or coiled, flexible metal tube attached to a gauge that records the degree to which the tube is straightened by the pressure of the gas or liquid inside.  “C” and “Spiral” shaped Bourdon-tubes are typical examples.

In other applications, differential-pressure transmitters using diaphragm seals can be applied to flow measurements.  When used in this example, capillary tubing transmits the pressure from diaphragm to the transmitter using a liquid located inside the tube.  Changes in temperature effect the concentration of this liquid, so the installation process is a critical factor.  The tubing must be designed to maintain the same temperature of liquid in both capillaries.

Capillary tube is specified to be the same length and same internal volume for both high-pressure and low-pressure sides of the sensing element in the transmitter.  . A consistent inner diameter on the capillary tube is critical to the accuracy and performance of the instrument. If these factors are not designed into the system, variation of expansion can occur producing inaccurate results.  This is also true from a mechanical sense for flow meters because the flow meter element taps are typically close together, so the distance from the transmitter to each tap should be the same.

As David W. Spitzer of Spitzer and Boyes LLC states; the liquid in the capillary tubing is different from the steam flow meter seal in the sense that the liquid in the capillary tubing is captive. Therefore, expansion of the liquid in one capillary will cause the liquid volume to change and affect the differential-pressure measurement. By nature, the differential-pressure transmitter will approximately cancel the expansion and density effects for capillary tubes of equal length (and liquid volume) when the capillaries are at the same temperature. However, unequal lengths of capillary tubing (and unequal liquid volume) on each side of the transmitter can affect the measurement because the different capillary lengths (and volumes) result in different amounts of expansion. Therefore, it is desirable for the tube lengths to be not only equal, but also at the same temperature. 

Capillary_tube_assemblyWhen very high temperature ranges are required, the design should incorporate a diaphragm seal and capillary tube.  A diaphragm seal is often used when measuring the pressure of high temperature media.  This seal isolates the media from the transmitter and the tube, which can be several feet long, providing isolation from extreme temperatures.  To maintain accuracy, capillary tubes should not be exposed to excessive temperatures and should not exceed 25 feet (7.5 m) in length.

diaphragm_seal_and_capillary_tubeIn level measurement applications where a vessel is under pressure, one end of the loop is placed at the bottom of the vessel and the other is placed at the top. The difference in pressure is used to calculate the liquid level. As the most expensive component is the sensing module, it allows for the use of a single device being fed two measurements. It is also more accurate than using two separate devices.

Capillary tubes are also used with hazardous area explosion-proof pressure transmitters specifically designed to meet the durability and performance requirements of oil and gas pressure monitoring applications.  These pressure transmitters are ideal for many oil and gas industry-related applications. Common uses include measuring casing and tubing pressure, wellhead monitoring, pipeline transport, and a number of refinery applications.

Conclusion:

The tubing is critical in this application and can often be overlooked. Incorrect tubing selection will make a high precision device inaccurate and completely devalue it in the eyes of the end user. Also, as pressures continue to go higher and higher, the risk of catastrophic failure is always present. High quality, consistent tubing reduces the risks to near zero.

Sources:

Flow Control

WIKA

OMEGA