色谱法是一种先将混合物中的组分分离成其组成元素,继而测量和分析此类元素的科学方法。“高效液相色谱”(HPLC)设备可帮助发现水体污染、有毒化学品和空气杂质。小径不锈钢长毛细管可用于探测诸多高精度系统,以提高取样效率。

选择HPLC管时应注意什么?

HPLC是最通用的实验室分析“工具”之一。由于色谱分析法下存有诸如分辨率差、谱带展宽、不良峰形等可能影响最终结果的各类问题,故须采取预防措施解决此类问题。常规HPLC系统(非UHPLC)的工作压力限制通常在5800 - 7000 psi(400 - 500巴)范围之内,而这通常适用于HPLC柱硬件和(全多孔颗粒)包装材料。然而,随着先进色谱技术的发展,超高效液相色谱(UHPLC)系统具有其两倍的总操作压力(高达15,000 psi)以获得更快的流速。UHPLC开发人员现在能够在更短的时间内,实现相同或更佳的分辨率以分离液相色谱。这是一项在效率、准确性和生产率方面取得的重大成就。UHPLC由HPLC演变而来,同样使用色谱柱、色谱泵和先进的HPLC管。

如果没有采取一定的预防措施并选择合适的材料,则系统中很可能会出现重大问题。某些主要系统组件通常被视为是此类问题的根源所在。然而,虽然流动相组成与填充不良的色谱柱可能是实验室发生问题的主要原因,但其并非导致系统故障的唯一来源。此类问题的另一主要原因可能是用于系统流路的不锈钢毛细管的不当选择。

在为特定流路选择适当的管件时,应考量诸多至关重要的因素:

材料

为了保证系统流路的完整性,选择适当的高压管材至关重要。材料必须与样品和流动相具有化学相容性。管件的化学不相容性可能导致某些生物样品“粘附”到管道表面,从而导致样品损失、收率低或发生残留。

压力与温度

当考虑在色谱应用场所下使用精密色谱管时,内部系统压力和极端温度将是主要考量因素。就面临极高压力和腐蚀性媒介物质的设备部分而言,只有符合严苛标准且高度完整的不锈钢毛细管才是适用选择。

在采用UHPLC等技术时,管件选择变得更加关键,这主要是因为,在系统高压区域施加极端压力的情况下,液体通路将产生巨大的应力。值得指出的是,在HPLC系统中正常工作的色谱管可能并不总是适合UHPLC系统。正如任何此类流程一样,如果高压管选择不当,将会导致系统性能不佳、常常出现色谱分析问题,以及发生诸如泄漏和破裂等更为严重的状况。

色谱管的尺寸选择

与针对精密管选择适用的材料一样,针对流路选择精确的色谱管尺寸同等重要。对于高效和超高效液相色谱(HPLC和UPLC)设备的性能而言,超小径不锈钢毛细管至关重要。

毛细管中应提供光洁内孔,以限制牛顿流体流经样品环,从而获得更佳的样品读数。毛细管尺寸的精确度、材料的完好性和内径表面的匀质性对于结果的精确性均很重要。管件应不含杂质,如油质、油脂和其他来自制造流程中的异物。此类杂质将会导致交叉污染和样品读数出错。如此一来,即可确保优化从传感器传送至测量仪器的液体和气体的流动,使其保持均匀状态。

选择最佳尺寸的高压管时必须考虑以下三点:

1) 管件的外径(OD)必须与接受口兼容。由于整个系统中连接的复杂性,两者必须匹配。

2) 管件还必须具有适合具体应用的适当内径(ID)。内径越小,结果越好。较小的内径可提供更快的线性速度和更小的“混合区”,从而确保样品组分尽可能保持浓缩状态。但是,仍有必要确保内径不会太小。随着色谱管的内径减小,压力可能增加至超出应用的耐压能力和要求。

3) 确保管长适用于应用场所。管件越长,流路所流入的液体体积越大。这有可能在流动相中稀释样品,从而导致样品组分分离后得以再次合并。在保持系统功能的同时,流路应尽可能短,这点尤为关键。

流路中色谱管的所有此类关键特性均应纳入考虑范围,这将有助于确保获得更为优质的测量结果,不论传统HPLC,还是更为先进的UHPLC均为如此。

不锈钢毛细管的适当准备

确定并备好适当的毛细管内经、外径和长度后,应确保管端正确成型,这将同样重要。采取以下步骤至关重要:

1) 确保管端平整且无毛刺。这样,管件可均匀地靠在接收端口的底部,从而有助于防止形成死体积。

2) 管件应以通孔为中心,以便与接收端口的开孔正确对齐。适当的定心操作可显著减少湍流和背压。

结论

选择适当的高压管材料尺寸(外径、内径和长度),并确保针对特定应用场所进行适当的预处理,这对于获得精准的色谱结果非常重要。最佳方法为寻求一家不锈钢毛细管制造商,其应具有丰富的经验,且可提供专为色谱应用场所而制的相关产品。

关于作者

HandyTube公司隶属于Handy& Harman公司,其乃一家优质的超小径不锈钢毛细管(USD™)制造商,且其产品适用于高效和超高效液相色谱(HPLC和UHPLC)设备。HandyTube的不锈钢无缝盘管还可用于油气、化学流程、造船、仪器仪表、航空航天和国防、自动化流程和生命科学行业。

You can contact HandyTube at 302.697.9521 or contact us here.

资料来源:

  1. 分离科学
  2. Chromatography Today

Chromatography is the science of separating components within a mixture into their constituent elements then measuring and analyzing these elements. “High-performance liquid chromatography” (HPLC) equipment can assist in finding water pollution, toxic chemicals, and airborne impurities.  Long lengths of small diameter stainless steel capillary tubing is used to plumb many high-precision systems to increase sampling efficiencies.

What to Consider When Selecting HPLC Tubing

Chromatography_equipmentHPLC is one of the most versatile analysis “tools” in laboratories. Certain precautions must be taken to overcome some of the challenges the chromatographer may experience, such as; poor resolution, band broadening and undesirable peak shapes that can distort the ultimate results. Operating pressure limits for regular HPLC systems (not UHPLC) are often in the range of 5800 – 7000 psi (400 – 500 bar), which is usually appropriate for HPLC column hardware and (fully porous particle) packing material also. However, with the advent of advanced chromatographic techniques, such UHPLC (Ultra High-performance liquid chromatography) systems which have twice the overall operating pressure (up to 15,000 psi) in order to obtain more rapid flow rates. UHPLC developers are now able to achieve equal or better resolution liquid chromatography separations in much shorter time frames. In terms of efficiency, accuracy and productivity, this was a major achievement. UHPLC is a variant of HPLC, also using columns, pumps and advanced HPLC tubing.

Without certain precautions and the selection of proper materials, significant problems can occur in a system.  Some of the major components of the system are often considered the source of such problems. However, while mobile phase composition and poorly packed columns can be major contributors to issues in the laboratory, they are not the only sources of system complications. Another major source of these problems can be improper selection of stainless steel capillary tubing for the system’s flow path.

There are many very important considerations when choosing the proper tubing for the specific fluid pathway:

Material

The proper high pressure tubing material selection is critical for the integrity of the system’s flow path.  The material must be chemically compatible with the sample and the mobile phase.  Chemical incompatibility of the tubing can cause certain biological samples to “stick” to the surface of the tubing, causing loss of sample, low yield or carryover.

Pressure and Temperature

The internal system pressures and extreme temperatures are major factors when considering the precision chromatograph tubing to be used in chromatography applications. In the portions of the equipment that experience extremely high pressure and corrosive media substances, only high‐integrity stainless steel capillary tubing, produced to exacting standards, is the applicable choice.

DNA_Strand

Tubing selection becomes even more critical when incorporating techniques such as UHPLC, primarily because of the stresses felt along the fluid pathway due to the extreme pressures being exerted in highpressure areas of the system. It is important to note that chromatograph tubing that performs properly in HPLC may not always be the correct choice for UHPLC.  As with any of these processes, incorrect high pressure tubing selection can cause poor system performance, common chromatographic problems and even more vital conditions such as leaks and ruptures.

Chromatograph Tubing Size Selection

Selecting the accurate size of chromatography tube for the fluid pathway is as important as the material of the precision tube.  Ultra-small diameter stainless steel capillary tube is crucial to the functionality of High Performance and Ultra-Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC and UPLC) equipment.

It is imperative the capillary tubing be manufactured to a smooth-bore, limiting Newtonian flow through the sample loop, which will ultimately result in a better sample read.  The accuracy of capillary tubing size, soundness of material and uniform inner surface are all critical for accurate results.  The tubing must also be free of impurities, such as oil, grease and other foreign material leftover from the manufacturing process which can result in cross-contamination and inaccurate sample readings. This ensures, for example, an optimized and even flow of liquids and gases from the sensor to the measuring instrument.

Three things must be considered when choosing the best size of high pressure tubing:

1) The outer diameter (OD) of the tubing must be compatible with the receiving ports. It is imperative that they match due to the complexity of the connections throughout systems.

2) The tubing must also be the correct inner diameter (ID) for the specific application. The smaller the inner diameter, the better the results. Small ID provides faster linear velocities and smaller “mixing zones”; ensuring sample components remain as concentrated as possible. However, it is necessary to make sure the ID is not too small. As the inner diameter of the chromatograph tubing decreases, the pressure increase could potentially exceed the application’s capabilities and requirements.

3) Make sure the tubing is the correct length for the application. The longer the tubing the more flow path volume is being introduced. This has the potential of diluting the sample in the mobile phase, causing the sample components to separate and merge back together. It is important for the flow path to be as short as possible, while maintaining system functionality.

Considering each of these critical features for chromatograph tubing in the fluid pathway will help to ensure quality results, in both traditional HPLC and more critical UHPLC

Proper Preparation of Stainless Steel Capillary Tubing

Once the correct ID, OD and length of the capillary is determined and prepared, it is just as critical to make sure the end of the tubing is properly formed.  It’s important to take the following steps:

1) Make sure the end of the tubing is flat and burr-free. This allows the tubing to sit uniformly against the bottom of the receiving port, helping to prevent dead volume pockets from forming.

2) The tubing should be thru-hole centered to provide proper alignment with the bore of the receiving port. Proper centering significantly reduces turbulence and back pressure.

Conclusion

Selecting the correct material size (OD, ID and length) of high pressure tubing and making sure it is properly prepped for the specific application are each significantly important to achieve accurate chromatographic results. It is best practice to find a stainless steel capillary tube manufacturer that has experience and provides a product that is specifically manufactured for chromatography applications.

About the Author

HandyTube Corporation, a Handy & Harman Company, is a premium manufacturer of Ultra-Small Diameter stainless steel capillary tubing (USD™) for High Performance and Ultra-High Performance Liquid Chromatography (HPLC and UHPLC) equipment. HandyTube’s seamless, stainless steel coils are also used in applications for the oil and gas, chemical processing, shipbuilding, instrumentation, hydrogen fuel cell, aerospace and defense, process automation and other life science industries.

You can contact HandyTube at 302.697.9521 or contact us here.

Sources:

  1. Separation Science
  2. Chromatography Today
  3. HandyTube Technical Specifications